The short answer: both halves, two separate exams
The Home Office caseworker guidance is explicit that a person ‘must meet both parts of the requirement: knowledge of language; knowledge of life in the UK’. Passing the Life in the UK Test satisfies the second part only. The first part is met by an approved B1 English test, by a degree taught or researched in English, or by being a national of a majority English-speaking country.
For applications made before 26 March 2027, the level is B1 CEFR in speaking and listening. Nothing about that has changed.
Knowledge of language
B1 English test (SELT)
- Speaking and listening only — no reading or writing paper
- Booked directly with a commercial provider, not through GOV.UK
- 80 approved centres in the UK, across 27 towns and cities
- From £160 with the providers that publish a price
- Result valid for 2 years
Knowledge of life
Life in the UK Test
- 24 multiple-choice questions in 45 minutes, from the official handbook
- Booked through the Home Office’s own service on GOV.UK
- Over 30 centres, but no list of them is published anywhere
- £50
- No published expiry on a pass
On this page
- Two different exams, not one
- What the B1 test actually tests
- Which level applies to you
- The approved UK providers
- Where you can take the test
- Booking, ID and what to bring
- Results, reference number and validity
- Who does not have to take it
- The move from B1 to B2 in 2027
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
Two different exams, not one
The Life in the UK Test and the B1 SELT are two different exams. Different operators, different booking systems, different venues, different fees. The Life in the UK Test is run by PSI Services (UK) Ltd for the Home Office, costs £50, and its centre list is not published. The SELT is run by four commercial providers in the UK (Trinity College London, IELTS SELT Consortium, LanguageCert and Pearson), typically costs from £160, and its approved centre list IS published on GOV.UK as an ODS download.
They are complementary, not alternatives, and they are entirely separate exams. Appendix KoLL paragraph 2.1 makes sufficient knowledge of the English language (paragraph 2.2) and sufficient knowledge about life in the United Kingdom (paragraph 2.3) both conditions of the same requirement. Two practical consequences worth stating plainly: first, a national of a majority English-speaking country is treated as automatically meeting the English part but 'must, however, show they have passed the Life in the UK test'; second, someone who was granted ILR on the basis of a B1 qualification 'can meet the English language requirement for naturalisation without needing to pass another qualification but will be required to pass the Life in the UK test if they have not already done so'. So it is common to need only one of the two at the citizenship stage.
Do not use a SELT centre address to find a Life in the UK Test
The Home Office publishes the addresses of every approved SELT centre, and this site reproduces that list. It publishes no equivalent list for the Life in the UK Test — those centres are shown only inside the official booking service, after you sign in. Turning up at an English test centre for a Life in the UK appointment means missing the appointment, and there is no refund for that. How to find your Life in the UK centre.
What the B1 test actually tests
Speaking and listening only. This is the single most common misunderstanding. GOV.UK's SELT guidance splits immigration routes into two groups: routes needing a test of 'your reading, writing, speaking and listening abilities' (Health and Care Worker, High Potential Individual, Innovator Founder, Minister of Religion, Scale-up Worker, Skilled Worker, Start-up, Student, Temporary Work – International Agreement), and routes needing a test of 'your speaking and listening abilities' — which is the group containing citizenship, International Sportsperson, parent, partner, Representative of an Overseas Business and settlement. There is no reading or writing paper on the B1 route to citizenship or ILR. A four-skills test at B1 or above also satisfies the requirement, because it includes speaking and listening, but it is longer and dearer and nobody applying for citizenship or settlement needs to take one for that purpose.
Tested for citizenship and settlement
Speaking · Listening
Not tested on this route
Reading · Writing — those belong to the four-skills tests used for work and study visas.
The English requirement applies to:
- Naturalisation as a British citizen
- Indefinite leave to remain (settlement) on routes that require KoLL
- Indefinite leave to enter
Which level applies to you
B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), for applications made before 26 March 2027. Appendix KoLL paragraph 2.2(c)(i) requires the online verification system to confirm 'that the applicant has passed an English language test in speaking and listening, at a minimum level B1 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages'. A higher-level qualification also satisfies it — the requirement is B1 'or above'. For indefinite leave to remain applications made on or after 26 March 2027 the same paragraph, as amended on 5 March 2026, requires B2 instead. See pendingChanges.
A1 (speaking and listening)
The first application on a partner, spouse or parent family visa. GOV.UK's family visa guidance says: 'You must pass at least level A1 on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) scale for your first visa application. You can choose to take a higher level test.' A1 is also the level for a Representative of an Overseas Business visa and an International Sportsperson visa. Taking B1 straight away at this stage is allowed and can save a later test: 'If you pass level B1 or higher, you can use your test result again when you apply for settlement after 5 years.'
A2 (speaking and listening)
The family visa extension after 2.5 years, but only for people whose first test was at A1. GOV.UK: 'If you passed: level A1, you'll need to pass at least level A2 in speaking and listening; level A2, B1, B2, C1 or C2, you can use the test result again for your application as long as your test certificate has not been withdrawn by the test provider.' Someone who was exempt first time round 'will need to pass a test at level A1' at the extension stage.
B1 (speaking and listening)
Settlement (indefinite leave to remain) and naturalisation as a British citizen, for applications made before 26 March 2027. This is the level the phrase 'the B1 English test' almost always refers to.
B2 (four skills)
Work routes such as Skilled Worker, Health and Care Worker, Scale-up Worker, High Potential Individual, Minister of Religion, Innovator Founder and Start-up, and degree-level Student visas, where Appendix English Language requires 'knowledge of English equivalent to level B2, or above' in 'all 4 components (reading, writing, speaking and listening)'. These are four-skills tests — a different exam from the B1 speaking and listening test. Note that the work-route level is itself recent: Appendix Skilled Worker now reads 'English language skills at level B2 or, where the applicant's most recent permission was as a Skilled Worker and which was granted subject to a requirement at level B1, level B1', the increase from B1 having taken effect for new applicants on 8 January 2026, with Scale-up Worker and High Potential Individual moving at the same time. Health and Care Worker sits inside Appendix Skilled Worker and has no lower carve-out. From 26 March 2027 B2 in speaking and listening separately becomes the settlement level: see pendingChanges.
C1 and C2 (four skills)
Higher-level Student visa requirements set by individual institutions. Not relevant to the citizenship or settlement route, though a C1 or C2 pass would more than satisfy a B1 requirement.
The approved UK providers
In the UK you may take a SELT with Trinity College London, IELTS SELT Consortium, LanguageCert and Pearson. GOV.UK is clear that the choice is yours — ‘It is for you to decide which test to take’ — and the result counts the same whichever you pick. What matters is booking the right product, because every one of these providers also sells English tests the Home Office will not accept for an immigration application.
Trinity College London
20 approved UK centresThe exam for citizenship and settlement is GESE Grade 5. Trinity describes it as 'a 10 minute speaking and listening test that can be taken at an approved Trinity SELT centre'. It has two parts: a discussion of a topic the candidate prepares in advance — 'You must complete a Topic Form in advance and bring it with you to the exam' — and a conversation with the examiner about two subject areas. Provisional results are emailed by 9am the day after the exam; a link to the digital certificate is emailed within 4 to 7 days of the exam date. Trinity is approved for SELTs taken in the UK only; it does not appear on the Home Office list of tests taken outside the UK.
Fee. £160 for any GESE exam, including the B1 GESE Grade 5. £200 for ISE exams. An optional add-on called Exam Protect costs £35 on top of the exam fee and allows the candidate to book one retake and reschedule once.
Both links open Trinity College London’s own website. LifeUKPractice takes no bookings and no payments.
IELTS SELT Consortium
16 approved UK centresIELTS Life Skills is the one to book for citizenship or settlement — 'a single test covering speaking and listening skills', taken face to face with an examiner and one other test taker, lasting around 20 minutes. It is not band-scored: 'you will receive either a Pass or a Fail result depending on how you performed.' IELTS for UKVI is the separate four-skills test, needed for work and study routes rather than for citizenship. Booking is through the consortium's centres, which trade under the British Council and IDP brands; ielts.org is the consortium's own site and its test-centre finder is the safest entry point. We were unable to load takeielts.britishcouncil.org for verification on 13 August 2026 (HTTP 403 to our fetcher), so no fact here rests on it.
Fee. IELTS does not publish a single UK price for Life Skills on ielts.org. The test is delivered by the consortium's partner centres and the fee is shown at the point of booking, so we have not stated a figure. Anyone quoting a fixed IELTS Life Skills price is quoting one centre, not a national rate.
Both links open IELTS SELT Consortium’s own website. LifeUKPractice takes no bookings and no payments.
LanguageCert
22 approved UK centresThe exam for citizenship and settlement is LanguageCert ESOL SELT B1 Speaking and Listening: a computer-delivered test with a live examiner, lasting 11 to 13 minutes, in five parts — personal questions, a role play, describing and discussing images, listening comprehension, and an uninterrupted talk on a topic the examiner supplies. The pass mark is 60 out of 100. Provisional results appear within a few minutes and official results in 3 working days. LanguageCert advises arriving at the centre 30 minutes before the start time with valid photo ID. A free re-sit is offered under a 'Take2' promotion whose terms are set by LanguageCert and can change — check the small print at booking rather than relying on it. Note the change GOV.UK records: 'From 6 July 2025 the LANGUAGECERT ESOL SELT 4-skills test was replaced by the LANGUAGECERT Academic SELT and LANGUAGECERT General SELT tests', with existing 4-skills results remaining valid for 2 years.
Fee. From £160 for the two-skills Speaking and Listening exams at A1, A2 and B1. From £200 for the four-skills Academic and General SELT exams. LanguageCert presents these as 'Price from', so the amount can vary by location.
Both links open LanguageCert’s own website. LifeUKPractice takes no bookings and no payments.
Pearson
22 approved UK centresThe exam for citizenship and settlement is PTE Home B1: Pearson's PTE Home B1 product page describes it as a '22-minute test with results typically in 2 days' that 'Meets the B1 English requirement for settlement (ILR) and citizenship'. Pearson's own pages are not consistent on the length — the PTE Home hub page says 'Take your test in 30 minutes' and the SELT overview page gives a 22 to 25 minute range across the A1, A2 and B1 levels — so treat 22 minutes as the figure Pearson publishes for B1 specifically and do not present any of these as a guaranteed appointment length. It is a single computer-based test, taken in a small centre with no more than 15 seats per room, scored by AI, and reported as a simple pass or fail. The score report 'usually within 48 hours' includes the SELT URN needed for the immigration application, and Pearson states results are shared with the Home Office automatically. PTE Academic UKVI is the separate four-skills test for work and study routes.
Fee. Pearson does not publish a flat UK price. Its own FAQ directs candidates to 'the price finder tool at the top of this page, or on our test centers and fees page', and fees vary by country and may include local taxes. We have not invented a figure.
Both links open Pearson’s own website. LifeUKPractice takes no bookings and no payments.
Compare the providers side by side — test names, format, length, published fees and which levels each one offers, including A1 and A2 for family visas.
Where you can take the test
Unlike the Life in the UK Test, the SELT centre network is published in full. The Home Office’s current list, dated 11 August 2026, holds 80 approved centres in the UK across 27 towns and cities.
The list names the provider, the centre and the address, but not which levels each centre runs or when it has appointments free. Only the provider’s own booking system can tell you that, so treat a published address as somewhere to check with the provider — never as somewhere to walk in. GOV.UK asks candidates not to contact centres directly.
Find a B1 test centre near you
Every approved Secure English Language Test centre in the UK, by town and city, with the provider that runs it and the address the Home Office publishes.
Cities with the most centres
Booking, ID and what to bring
There is no central Home Office booking site for the SELT and no way to book one through GOV.UK. You choose which approved provider to use — 'It is for you to decide which test to take' — and book directly on that provider's own website. In the UK the choice is Trinity College London, the IELTS SELT Consortium, LanguageCert or Pearson; outside the UK it is PSI Services (UK) Ltd, the IELTS SELT Consortium, LanguageCert or Pearson. Before booking, check the exact product name, because each provider also sells non-SELT English tests that the Home Office will not accept: the approved names are 'IELTS for UKVI' or 'IELTS Life Skills'; 'LANGUAGECERT International ESOL SELT', 'LANGUAGECERT Academic SELT' or 'LANGUAGECERT General SELT'; 'PTE Academic UKVI' or 'PTE Home'; 'Skills for English UKVI'; and, from Trinity, 'Secure English Language Tests for UKVI' — Integrated Skills in English (ISE) or Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE). The booking must be made in the name on the identity document you will bring: 'The details used to book your test must be the same as on your passport or other identity document. If your surname has changed, you will still need to book the test in the name on your passport or identity document.' GOV.UK also warns about resellers: if booking through a third party, confirm 'they are officially recognised by the test provider' and that 'their fees are the same as, or lower than, the price on the test provider's website', noting that 'some third party providers may claim to be affiliated with official Home Office partners when they are not'. The Home Office publishes the full list of approved centres in and outside the UK as ODS spreadsheets on the SELT guidance page, but tells candidates to check the provider's website for availability and not to contact centres directly.
Identity documents accepted
- Passport — accepted for tests taken in the UK and outside the UK
- Convention travel document — accepted in the UK and outside the UK
- Stateless persons travel document — accepted in the UK and outside the UK
- An eVisa — UK tests only; sign in to your UKVI account and get a share code by selecting 'to prove your immigration status for anything else'
- An expired biometric residence permit (BRP) or biometric residence card (BRC), if you cannot access your eVisa — you must take the test no later than 24 months after the expiry date on the card, or by 31 December 2026, whichever is sooner, and bring the original card
- Identity cards of EEA nationals — accepted in the UK or outside the UK, in the country where the document was issued
- Valid photographic government-issued identity cards — outside the UK only, in the country where the document was issued
Whatever document you use, GOV.UK requires it to 'be current and valid; be an original, not a photocopy; include a photo of you; match the information you gave when you booked the test'. If the document carries a signature, that is checked too. 'If you are not able to prove your identity, you will not be allowed to take a test.' Emergency travel documents are not accepted. If the Home Office is holding your passport and you have no other valid document, you can ask for it back so you can sit the test. Anyone with a previous gender or former name they do not want centre staff to see should email sensitivebookings@homeoffice.gov.uk before booking.
How soon you can sit it
GOV.UK's expectation is that 'You should be able to take a test within 28 days of booking, but it may not always be at the location nearest to you.' If there is no approved location in your country you may have to travel to another country. Actual availability varies by provider and city; LanguageCert advertises frequent daily slots in the UK and Trinity advertises exams seven days a week, but neither is a Home Office guarantee. Note the contrast with the Life in the UK Test, which must be booked at least 3 days in advance — the two booking systems have nothing to do with each other.
On the day
The identity document you booked with, and nothing that the centre prohibits. Trinity candidates sitting GESE must also bring a completed Topic Form prepared in advance: 'You must complete a Topic Form in advance and bring it with you to the exam.' LanguageCert asks candidates to arrive 30 minutes before the start time with valid photo ID. You do not need to bring anything to prove your eligibility for the visa or citizenship application — the centre only checks identity. Reasonable adjustments must be requested at the time of booking: 'You can make special requests when you book your test if, for example, you have a disability and need extra equipment or help accessing the test location.'
Results, reference number and validity
How long results take
It depends on the provider, and each publishes its own figure. Trinity: provisional GESE results emailed by 9am the day after the exam, with a link to the digital certificate within 4 to 7 days of the exam date. LanguageCert: provisional results within a few minutes, official results in 3 working days. Pearson: score report 'usually within 48 hours', and Pearson says PTE Home results are shared with the Home Office automatically. PSI Skills for English: results 'available in as little as 3 to 5 days'. IELTS does not state a Life Skills turnaround on the pages we were able to verify, so no figure is given here.
Your SELT unique reference number
Passing gets you a SELT unique reference number (URN), and that number — not a certificate — is what goes on the application form. GOV.UK: 'After you pass the test, you will be given a SELT unique reference number which you must use when making your application. If you do not include your reference number, your application may be refused.' It is labelled differently by each provider: 'UER' for Trinity College London tests, 'UKVI number' for IELTS SELT Consortium tests, 'Candidate URN' for LANGUAGECERT tests, 'SELT URN' for Pearson tests, and 'URN' for PSI Skills for English tests. No documents are submitted with the application: 'Test results and scores are checked using the SELT online verification system provided by each approved SELT test provider using a SELT unique reference number.' Caseworker guidance describes the URN format as 'XXX / 123456 / 123456 / 123456789', made up of the first three letters of the provider's name, the date of the test, the test centre number and the candidate number, and notes that if the test does not appear on the provider's online verification system the application does not meet the English language requirement. The Life in the UK Test issues its own, separate URN from a PSI account — do not confuse the two on the application form.
How long a pass lasts
Two years. GOV.UK: 'Test results are valid for 2 years from the date the test is awarded', and a result must 'have been awarded in the two years before the date of your application'. There are two important carve-outs in the Home Office caseworker guidance. For ILR, an expired result can still be accepted where the qualification 'is from one of the providers on the current SELT list' and 'has previously been accepted by us as part of another immigration application, such as for entry clearance'. For naturalisation, 'A person who successfully made an application for indefinite leave to remain based on a B1 level qualification can meet the English language requirement for naturalisation without needing to pass another qualification. This is regardless of whether the original qualification is on the current SELT list.' In plain terms: most people who used a B1 test to get ILR do not have to sit it again for citizenship, however old the certificate is. A test taken in the UK can be used for overseas applications and vice versa.
If you do not pass
There is no Home Office limit on how many times you may sit a SELT, but there is no free national retake either: you rebook and pay the provider again unless their own terms say otherwise. On four-skills tests only, GOV.UK allows a partial resit in some cases: 'In certain circumstances, if you failed one component of the test, you may be allowed to sit that component again. You will need to check the test provider's terms and conditions before booking a test.' That does not arise on the two-skills B1 test used for citizenship and settlement, where speaking and listening are assessed together. Provider retake offers exist and change: Trinity sells 'Exam Protect' for £35 on top of the exam fee, which allows one retake and one reschedule; LanguageCert advertises a free re-sit under a promotion. Both are commercial terms set by the provider, not Home Office rules, so check them at the point of booking. Where two or more components are examined and awarded together, GOV.UK requires the necessary scores in all relevant components 'with the same test centre provider as part of the combined test assessment'.
Who does not have to take it
A great many applicants never sit a SELT. You are exempt if you are 65 or over, and for settlement if you are under 18. Nationals of a list of majority English-speaking countries are treated as meeting the English requirement automatically, as is anyone whose degree was taught or researched in English. A long-term physical or mental condition can also justify a waiver, on medical evidence.
The catch worth knowing. Almost every one of those exemptions covers the English half only. The Home Office guidance says nationals of majority English-speaking countries ‘must, however, show they have passed the Life in the UK test’. Age and medical waivers are the exceptions that can cover both halves.
Read the full exemption rules and the evidence each one needs →The move from B1 to B2 in 2027
The rule today. For applications made before 26 March 2027, the level is B1 CEFR in speaking and listening. Nothing about that has changed. The higher level applies to settlement applications made on or after 26 March 2027, not before.
The rule that applies today is B1 in speaking and listening. That is not in doubt: Appendix KoLL, as it currently stands, requires B1 'where the date of application is before 26 March 2027'. What has changed is what happens after that date. On 5 March 2026 the government laid a statement of changes to the Immigration Rules and the explanatory memorandum says: 'This change increases the English language requirement for settlement to B2 level under the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) for a number of immigration routes where the existing requirement is at B1 level.' The listed routes are those covered by Appendix KoLL, Appendix Skilled Worker, Appendix Tier 2 Minister of Religion, Appendix Representative of an Overseas Business, Appendix UK Ancestry, Appendix Global Talent, Appendix Scale Up, Appendix Innovator Founder, Appendix International Sportsperson, Appendix Child Relative (Sponsors with Protection), Appendix Long Residence, Appendix Bereaved Partner, Appendix Private Life and Appendix Settlement Family Life, with consequential amendments to Appendix English Language. The memorandum states: 'These changes will come into force on 26 March 2027' and that commencement was deferred by a year 'in order to provide those subject to the new requirements with sufficient opportunity to take any steps necessary to meet them'. It also confirms the change 'will therefore apply to those already on a pathway to settlement in the UK'. The Home Office news story of 5 March 2026 described it as a move from a GCSE-equivalent standard to an A-level-equivalent one, and said roughly 200 hours of learning typically separates the two levels. Two cautions on scope. First, this is an Immigration Rules change and Appendix KoLL governs indefinite leave to enter or remain — the memorandum does not mention naturalisation, and the requirement for British citizenship sits in the British Nationality Act 1981 and its regulations. The Home Office KoLL caseworker guidance, version 31.0 published for staff on 18 December 2025, still states B1 for naturalisation and had not been reissued when we checked on 13 August 2026. Anyone writing about the citizenship route should say what the settlement change does and does not cover rather than assuming it transfers. Second, the news headline 'Higher standard of English now required to settle in the UK' is misleading if read literally: nothing about the level required changed on the day it was published. Separately and still unresolved: the May 2025 white paper 'Restoring control over the immigration system' proposed a wider 'earned settlement' model, and the consultation 'A Fairer Pathway to Settlement' ran from 20 November 2025 to 11:59pm on 12 February 2026. As at 13 August 2026 the GOV.UK consultation page still reads 'We are analysing your feedback' and no outcome document has been published. Proposals in that consultation — including a longer default qualifying period and a one-year reduction for C1-level English — are proposals only and must never be written up as current law.
How this was dated
- Immigration white paper:
- 12 May 2025
- Statement of changes laid:
- 5 March 2026
- Earned settlement consultation closed:
- 12 February 2026 — outcome not yet published
- B2 comes into force for settlement:
- 26 March 2027
Position as at 13 August 2026. GOV.UK is itself inconsistent about the reference number for this statement of changes: the publication URL uses HC 1619 while the document titles use HC 1691. Both resolve to the same page. Quote the wording, not the number.
B1 English test questions
Do I need both the Life in the UK Test and an English test?
Usually, yes — but not always, and many people only ever sit one of them. The Home Office calls this the knowledge of language and life in the UK requirement, and its guidance says a person 'must meet both parts of the requirement: knowledge of language; knowledge of life in the UK'. The Life in the UK Test covers the second part only. The first part is met by an approved B1 English test, by a degree taught or researched in English, or by being a national of a majority English-speaking country. If you already met the English part when you were granted indefinite leave to remain, you generally do not have to meet it again for citizenship — but you will still need the Life in the UK Test if you have not already passed it.
Is the B1 English test the same as the Life in the UK Test?
No. They are two completely separate exams and nothing about one carries over to the other. The Life in the UK Test is a 45-minute, 24-question computer test about British customs, history and government, costs £50, and is booked through the Home Office's Life in the UK booking service. The B1 test is a spoken English exam, lasting somewhere between about 10 and 50 minutes depending on which provider you choose, costing from around £160, booked directly with a commercial test provider. Different venues, different booking systems, different results and different reference numbers. Book the wrong one and you have simply bought the wrong exam.
What level of English do I need for citizenship or indefinite leave to remain?
B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, in speaking and listening, for applications made before 26 March 2027. A higher-level qualification also counts, because the requirement is B1 or above. The test must be an approved Secure English Language Test, taken at an approved test centre, and awarded within the two years before the date of your application.
Do I have to do a reading and writing exam too?
Not for citizenship or settlement. GOV.UK splits the routes into two groups, and citizenship, settlement, partner, parent, International Sportsperson and Representative of an Overseas Business all sit in the group that needs a test of 'your speaking and listening abilities'. Reading and writing are tested on work and study routes such as Skilled Worker, Health and Care Worker and Student — a different, longer and more expensive exam. If a website or agent tells you that you must sit a four-skills test for naturalisation, check the route you are actually applying on.
What ID do I need to bring?
A passport is the safest answer, and the details you booked with must match it exactly. GOV.UK requires your document to be current and valid, an original rather than a photocopy, to include a photo of you, and to match the booking. Convention travel documents and stateless persons travel documents are also accepted everywhere. In the UK you can instead use an eVisa share code, obtained by signing in to your UKVI account and selecting 'to prove your immigration status for anything else'. If you cannot access your eVisa, an expired BRP or BRC may be used, but only up to 24 months after the expiry date printed on it or until 31 December 2026, whichever comes first, and you must bring the original card. EEA identity cards are accepted in the country that issued them. Emergency travel documents are never accepted, and if you cannot prove your identity you will not be allowed to sit the test.
When will I get my result, and what is the unique reference number?
Turnaround is set by the provider. Trinity emails provisional GESE results by 9am the day after the exam and sends a link to the digital certificate within 4 to 7 days. LanguageCert gives provisional results within minutes and official results in 3 working days. Pearson issues a score report usually within 48 hours. Skills for English quotes 3 to 5 days. When you pass, you are given a SELT unique reference number, and that number is what goes on your application form: 'If you do not include your reference number, your application may be refused.' It appears as 'UER' on Trinity results, 'UKVI number' on IELTS results, 'Candidate URN' on LanguageCert results, 'SELT URN' on Pearson results and 'URN' on Skills for English results. You do not send in a certificate — the Home Office checks the number against the provider's online verification system. The Life in the UK Test issues its own separate reference number, so take care not to enter one where the other belongs.
How long is a B1 pass valid?
Two years from the date the test is awarded, and the result must have been awarded in the two years before the date of your application. There are two significant exceptions. For indefinite leave to remain, an expired result can still be accepted if it came from a provider still on the current SELT list and had already been accepted as part of an earlier immigration application. For naturalisation, if you were granted indefinite leave to remain on the basis of a B1 qualification you can meet the English requirement without taking another test, and the caseworker guidance says this applies 'regardless of whether the original qualification is on the current SELT list'. In practice, most people who used a B1 test to get settled status do not sit it again for citizenship.
Is the requirement going up from B1 to B2?
For settlement, yes, but not yet. On 5 March 2026 the government laid a statement of changes to the Immigration Rules raising the English requirement for settlement from B1 to B2, across the routes covered by Appendix KoLL and a long list of other appendices. The explanatory memorandum says the changes 'will come into force on 26 March 2027', deferred by a year so people have time to reach the higher level, and confirms they will apply to people already on a pathway to settlement. Until then B1 is the rule, and Appendix KoLL still spells out B1 for applications made before that date. The naturalisation requirement sits in nationality law rather than the Immigration Rules and the memorandum does not mention it, so if you are applying for citizenship rather than settlement, check the position on GOV.UK close to the time. Separately, a wider 'earned settlement' consultation closed on 12 February 2026 and the government has not yet published its response, so anything you read about a ten-year qualifying period or a C1 discount is a proposal, not law.
Sources
Read directly from the official pages below rather than summarised from elsewhere. Last reviewed 13 August 2026. The Immigration Rules and the approved provider list both change — confirm the current position on GOV.UK before you book or apply.
- Prove your English language abilities with a secure English language test (SELT) — GOV.UK guidance, last updated 12 August 2026 — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Immigration Rules Appendix KoLL — GOV.UK — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Knowledge of language and life in the UK: caseworker guidance (accessible) — version 31.0, published for Home Office staff 18 December 2025 — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Prove your knowledge of English for citizenship and settling — GOV.UK — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Family visas: apply, extend or switch — Knowledge of English — GOV.UK — accessed 13 August 2026.
- List of approved secure English language tests taken in the UK (ODS) — Home Office — accessed 13 August 2026.
- List of approved SELT test centres in the UK, from August 2026 (ODS) — Home Office, dated 11 August 2026 — accessed 13 August 2026. Confirmed on 13 August 2026 as the newest edition GOV.UK publishes, by reading the attachment list on the SELT guidance page rather than reusing a stored link. Downloaded and parsed: 80 UK centre rows, all 'Available'.
- Explanatory memorandum to the statement of changes in the Immigration Rules: HC 1691, 5 March 2026 — GOV.UK — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Higher standard of English now required to settle in the UK — Home Office news story, 5 March 2026 — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Earned settlement — GOV.UK consultation, closed 12 February 2026, outcome not yet published — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Life in the UK Test — GOV.UK — accessed 13 August 2026.
- Trinity College London — published fees. https://www.trinitycollege.com/qualifications/SELT (GESE £160.00, ISE £200.00) and https://www.trinitycollege.com/qualifications/SELT/B1-GESE-grade-5 ('All Trinity SELT GESE exams cost £160'), both accessed 13 August 2026. The £35 Exam Protect figure is not on either of those pages and comes from https://www.trinitycollege.com/qualifications/SELT/why-choose-Trinity/Exam-Protect, also accessed 13 August 2026.
- LanguageCert — published fees. https://selt.languagecert.org/ and https://www.languagecert.org/en/uk-visa-exams, both accessed 13 August 2026
The other half of the requirement is free to practise
Nobody can revise for a B1 speaking exam the way you revise for a written one, but the Life in the UK Test is exactly that kind of exam — 24 questions in 45 minutes, and you must score 75% or more. Our mock tests are marked at the real pass mark with an explanation for every answer, and cost nothing.
LifeUKPractice is an independent study resource and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the UK Home Office, gov.uk, or any government body. It is not affiliated with any Secure English Language Test provider, takes no bookings and receives no payment for the outbound links on this page.